Morbid Obesity-Weight Loss-Lack of Sleep-Obstructive Sleep Apnea

Last year I was driving to my doctor’s office and I was having difficulty staying awake AT 8:30AM!!! I mentioned it to my doctor who said he wanted me to consider having a sleep study done.  I finally made the appointment and had the study done in May.  I had many questions related to my obstructive sleep apnea (I had stopped breathing 34 times an hour during a night’s sleep-this is considered severe obstructive sleep apnea). Can you even imagine what it means to have your sleep disturbed  like that?

I have been aware for quite some time that adults are supposed to get 7 or 8 hours of sleep per night. I am also aware that a lack of enough sleep can cause one to be hungry and to gain weight. Obstructive sleep apnea causes the heart to work harder while you are asleep, therefore being a risk to your health.

If you are morbidly obese, which I am,  or if you snore, consider having a sleep study done . It might help you to save your life.

I now have a CPAP machine which I use each night. I have had to change my sleep habits and attempt to go to bed and arise at more regular times.  I now stop breathing rarely.  Best of all, I am no longer dragging around all day long as if I didn’t sleep the night before. I have no idea how long I had this condition; however, I suspect that it has been many years.  The energy I now have is amazing. I feel like a new person.  I urge you…if you are very overweight, very tired or snore regularly, speak with your doctor about the possibility of obstructive sleep apnea.

My life has changed. I understand that there is also the possibility that I may drop some weight as a result of using the CPAP machine.

Good luck.

This is MeddlingMom…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Morbid Obesity-Weight Loss-Lack of Sleep-Obstructive Sleep Apnea”

  1. Metal Cabinets : Says:

    weight loss should be easy to achieve if you combine proper diet with lots of exercise .

Leave a Reply

