Technology AGAIN! It’s exhausting…

Here I am again. While I try to be calm and cool about it, technology has me by the YOU KNOW WHAT.  I have a wonderful piece of equipment which can copy videos and DVD’s onto each other.  Yesterday I decided it was a good time to copy a video from a daycare I had years ago in Drexel Hill.  Some time in the next few months, we will be having a reunion of the parents and children (who range from age 16 to 18 years of age now).So I diligently made 7 copies..

Just now I decided to view the DVD’s on another of our DVD players. Sometimes DVD’s won’t play on all DVD players. So far I have tried 3 of the discs and none of them-NOT ONE-works. The machine tells me “no disc”.  I go through a variety of emotions , the first one being “I must be insane.”  Did I not just do everything I need to do to copy the video for 7 people? WHY CAN’T THESE MACHINES JUST DO WHAT THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO DO? WORK – ALL THE TIME– Make me happy.  Apparently you also need to know what kind of DVD’s your player will accept.      

I will check out the other 4. I am not expecting much. Then later, I wil try all 7 on yet another DVD player in our house. Ugh! I just HATE all of this..People today assume that everything is routine, run-of-the-mill, easy…for so many young people it is…BUT I AM 63 YEARS YOUNG!  Here’s the process for me.

              1. Determine what type of disc is compatible to use with my burner.

              2. Make sure video is re-wound to the beginning of the desired film.

              3. Insert video in machine, then insert disc.

              4. Press to vcr to make sure machine is on vcr mode.

              5.  Press PLAY and then quickly press dubbing.

              6.  Come back to the room when video has completed copying, in this case-87 minutes.

I did this 7 times and look at my reward!!!  (Not that I was looking for a reward…I just wasn’t looking for a lot of nonsense.)  As I’ve heard before, “No good deed goes unpunished”- I hate that saying. I don’t really believe it, but it appears to be true in this instance.

And after all of this, I have to figure out what the problem is and possibly record these all over again.

This is MeddlingMom…I hope technology is working for you.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Technology AGAIN! It’s exhausting…”

  1. WorkaholicMommy Says:

    Hi I’ve just started my blog – I wish you would check it out anf give me some feedback, I’d love to hear from other Mommy bloggers!

    Hi, I just read your blog as you requested. I think there are lots of people who would enjoy your raw honesty and can identitfy with it…Your writing is good, I think…you do sound a little angry…but keep on writing…what you say is valid…I just don’t know how some people would feel about suggesting getting drunk and going dancing. Lots of people do that, but how does that behavior make one’s life better? It’s pretty primal behavior…..and can be very destructive. I guess my question for you is, what’s your goal with your blog…is it simply to rant about what’s bothering you or is there another goal related to those you hope will read it? Good luck!

Leave a Reply

