Botox Experience for Hemifacial Spasm

A month ago I wrote about my hemifacial spasm and what an annoyance it is. It starts as an eye twitch.  As I said then I have received Botox injections rather frequently, more often than most people who receive Botox.  The last time I had an injection was early December. I have decided to see if I can NOT have further injections, to see just how bad the spasm is when I have had no Botox for awhile.  So far it has been fine…the spasm does come and go, but I am managing…I mean this is not life-threatening or anything.

I guess I should take this opportunity to mention a little about the Botox experience since I did not say much about that before.  As the physician has told me, this is an art, not a science…the actual injections are fairly specific if you have a physician who is expert with Botox, but it is not perfect or concrete.  I guess it takes a leap of faith to trust a total stranger (no matter how much training) to inject you in the face with a  needle eight times.  Well…a leap of faith or desperation or a bit of each!  The actual needle going in does …or I should say…CAN hurt or pinch, but usually only 3 of the 8 injections hurts,,,the others don’t hurt at all.  I think it depends on the area of the injection and in one instance, on my chin, the skin is thicker and it really hurts!  So pain would never be my reason for deciding to not continue with Botox.  I feel so fortunate to be able to have this treatment covered by my insurance. And I am very happy that my physician referred me to an expert practitioner. For now, I will relinquish such treatment. I will focus on vitamin supplements, meditation , regular physical exercise and acupuncture and see what I think after a few months.  One other consderation is that we really don’t know what the long-term effects are of having a poison injected into your body. 

I hope my re-visiting this subject doesn’t seem redundant.

This is MeddlingMom…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Botox Experience for Hemifacial Spasm”

  1. andy Says:

    not a bad idea to give it a rest for awhile ti! of course, if the symptoms start to become really annoying again, it is worth it!

  2. Tina Says:

    You’re right, An…I’ll just see how it goes. I also wonder if it could be caused by the fact that I have an astigmatism and I buy over the counter glasses, which the doctor said was fine…wonder if this is causing the problem, will ask him when i see him in early May. Imagine, it could be that simple!

  3. irma Says:

    I’ve had hemifacial spasms for 5 years now, but mine come and go. I will go without them for several months and then they come back for a couple of months and then I’m fine again. I almost had MVD surgery once but I had a fall and hit my head which cured my spasms for two years but now they r back. I’m so tired of them. It’s so embarrassing to talk to ppl with the spasms going on. I think I’m gonna try botox this time.

    • meddlingmom Says:

      I know what you mean about it being embarrassing. I have noticed when I am having lots of spasms…it seems something viral is happening…I usually end up with a cold within a few days of that happening. It is all very annoying..I try to remember to be appreciative that nothing life-threatening is going on, but it’s not easy…maybe yoga or meditation… Thanks for writing and reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

