World Cancer Day – Light a Candle

I received an e-mail today stating that Friday is World Cancer Day. Here’s what it said:
Friday is world cancer day – I’d appreciate it if you will forward this request:

93% won’t forward
A small request.. Just one line.
Dear God, I pray for a cure for cancer. Amen
All you are asked to do is keep this circulating, even if it’s only to one more person.
In memory of anyone you know who has been struck down by cancer or is still living with it.
A Candle Loses Nothing by Lighting Another Candle..
Please Keep This Candle Going

There was a pretty picture with it and I tried several times to copy and paste it to the blog..Technology! Ugh! That prompted me to Google World Cancer Day. looking for a picture, thinking I could paste that to the blog. What I found out was that the designated day was on February 4, 2011…it seems it is still circulating, right? So I thought…it doesn’t matter that the day isn’t on Friday…what matters is the prayer, the sentiment, all of the people who will be remembered and thought of because of this message. The person who sent me the message is a cancer survivor…34 years. I, too, am a cancer survivor…almost 7 years…in September.

So please rally, think about those you know who have had cancer and light a candle…you can light it today if you want…no need to wait ’til Friday…I just tried to copy and paste another candle…couldn’t do it…oh, well, I CAN light a candle right now!
Every day is World Cancer Day.

This is MeddlingMom…the only things that really matter are LOVE and people…

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “World Cancer Day – Light a Candle”

  1. Alberta Dougan Says:

    My sister died of cancer and she fought hard. Please light a candle for World Cancer day Friday….

    • meddlingmom Says:

      Thank you for writing (and reading), Alberta. I am sorry about your sister..let’s keep lighting candles and bringing light to this subject …those we love are still with us…

  2. meddlingmom Says:

    simply a matter of opinion; thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

