Hurricane Irene Update and Cell Phones-National DO NOT CALL list

Hurricane Irene certainly gave us a run for our money the past few days…People went into survival mode….much of what I am about to talk about is my experience and can seem mundane.  I am very appreciative that Hurricane Irene did not do the amount of damage that was predicted as a possibility. Finding flashlights was a real challenge. BJ’s told me they had loads of flashlights when I called at 9AM Friday.  When I got there all they had was a 5 pack of 5 inch flashlights, all different colors, very attractive. I did buy them although they were not what I was looking for!  Then I proceeded to Lowe’s and all they had were some super duper type rechargeables that were huge and looked like a drill, pretty heavy looking. It said they lasted,  I think, one and a half hours…(well, that wouldn’t do if we lost power!) and a tripod flashlight  with 3 separate flashlights that are attached to the tripod (which can stand). This flashlight was $30, lasts 5 hours and allows you to see 375 feet ahead!  So I bought that one, too!  Then of course we had to buy enough water  to last several days, non perishable foods and snacks. It felt like I had a new career. Then we had to put all of our deck furniture, excluding the heavy glass- topped table (which we turned upside down on the deck and weighted with a 50 pound bag of play sand) in our garage…also the grill went into the garage.  Hanging plants were brought in.  Then came the vigil of sitting here and watching the news coverage on TV, doing all possible laundry (in case we lost power for a week), putting together some bags and boxes of important things that must leave with us if we had to evacuate (family photos, important papers, etc.)

So last night we decided to watch a movie on ON DEMAND. During that time, we got a number of notices about Tornado watches in several counties and cities.  That stopped the movie we rented, then we couldn’t get the movie to continue…it was gone!  We had to go upstairs to another TV to watch the remainder of the movie…By the way, I highly recommend the movie we saw Frances starring Jessica Lang, about the life of Frances Farmer. This is a true story and heart-wrenching.   Well, that ended at 2AM and then we had the concern about whether we should stay awake to see or hear the hurricane.  We chose sleep.  I woke up this morning at 7:30. In my neighborhood…NOTHING happened…or I should say not much…our house did not lose power.  There are plenty of houses in the 5 county region that lost power and I am certain there is plenty of water damage. Compared to what we thought COULD HAVE HAPPENED…I am very relieved that the preparations-for the most part- were not needed-and that our governments and utility companies did what they needed to to make things go as well as possible…oftentimes we are cynical about government and utilities and all that we think they don’t do for us.  I have to say I am pretty impressed right now by their professionalism and expertise.

Of course I am saddened that anyone lost their lives and that there is damage to many businesses and homes. Manayunk, I am sure has had quite a lot of water damage along with other low-lying areas. Although Irene has not moved away from North America yet, she will be gone soon, within hours.  Bye, bye, Irene, happy to see you leave.

On a  completely different topic,  Cell Phones Go Public This Month!  Here is the Opt Out Information:
All cell phone numbers are being released to telemarketing companies and you will start to receive sales calls.
YOUR MINUTES WILL BE CHARGED FOR THESE CALLS…To prevent this, call the following number from your cell phone:  888-382-1222
It is the National DO NOT CALL list It will only take a minute of your time. It blocks your number for five (5) years. You must call from the cell phone number you want to have blocked.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

