Schweddy Balls Ice Cream? What’s next? Toddlers and Tiaras-3 year old Hooker

Once again, the world has surprised me…now I am not a prude (what’s that, right?) and I love ice cream…it is one of my favorite snacks…yum! I especially love Ben and Jerry’s and have been a fan of their social consciousness in the past.  If you haven’t heard about this, click on this link and read NPR’s take on this ..

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2011/09/07/140266537/yes-its-true-ben-jerrys-introduces-schweddy-balls-ice-cream-flavor

Look at the skit that inspired this flavor:

http://www.cinemablend.com/television/Schweddy-Balls-Ice-Cream-Ben-Jerry-Flavor-Inspired-By-SNL-Sketch-34906.html

Truly it seems a bit of a turn off to me, not sure I’ll try it!

Last week, I wrote about the shirt that J C Penney was selling and did withdraw from its line due its distasteful nature; it did not support what makes sense for our girls and our boys. I spoke of the ramifications to our youth and our society.  Well..today I heard about a little girl whose mother dressed her as a hooker for a pageant.  Granted the little girl was only 3 years old…so what is going on here? When are we going to start insisting that children be protected? What is wrong with this picture…the pageant obviously doesn’t have any standards that require little girls to look like little girls…who could possibly think this was “cute”? It is just baffling. I am not one to believe that parents should have their power usurped, but I do think it is time for some common sense.  Sherri Shepherd of The View brought up the concept that girls aren’t watching these little girls, but pedophiles are! I completely agree!  Come on, Moms and Dads, please get smart, get interested in your child’s well-being.  Be a responsible parent!

This is MeddlingMom…I’d love to hear your comments!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

