The 4 Most Annoying Things I Love About My Family

I just came across this in an old e-mail from last year. I just love it…I have been a fan of Donna Brazile for many years.  My won family is very entertaining…interesting…full of drama…always there when they are truly needed…my niece says, “I love my Crazy Family!” I, too, love my crazy family!
The 4 Most  Annoying Things I Love About My Family
By Donna  Brazile O, The Oprah  Magazine  |  From the July 2011 issue of O, The Oprah Magazine
Big Family Photo: Thinkstock
1. They’ve got kids. My  eight siblings have produced 15 nieces and nephews, and let me tell you: They’re  a lot of work. Every time we solve a crisis over one’s schooling or boyfriend,  something else erupts. But I couldn’t love them more if they were my own.
2. They can laugh at anything. My parents taught us to crack  jokes through the hardest of times. I sometimes doubt my family would have  survived Hurricane Katrina—which scattered us to eight states—if we hadn’t been  able to find humor in the little things. Like when my dad, a 75-year-old  widower, ended up in a shelter in San Antonio, reading palms and chatting up  women. When he came home with one, you can bet we laughed at that,  too.
3. They knew me back when. I get embarrassed when my siblings  remind me that I ran our family like a dictatorship by the time I was 10. But at  least I never have to explain myself. My habits of hoarding pens and obsessively  checking the weather? We grew up poor in hurricane alley; they get it.
4. They’re the life of the party. When I invited my sisters to a  Motown bash at the White House, I was a little mortified to see them shaking  their tail feathers all over the Rose Garden. But okay, I joined in. Let’s just  say the Braziles shut that thing down.

Read more: http://www.oprah.com/relationships/Donna-Brazile-Loving-Your-Family-Annoying-Family-Habits#ixzz1o4VRBcBy

The older and wiser I become, the more important my family becomes to me…each person is special, unique, worthwhile…no matter what our challenges, foibles, flaws…that’s just the way it is when you love people, isn’t it?

This is MeddlingMom…I hope you have  a wonderful weekend and if you have some family or friends who you love, pass this along to them…share the sentiment of what you feel and their importance to you…

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “The 4 Most Annoying Things I Love About My Family”

  1. Heather Lenore Says:

    LOVED, LOVED IT – THOSE KIDS WERE SOOOO CUTE!!!! I AM ALWAYS WATCHING FOR YOUR COMMENTS – HAVE NOT BEEN CONTRIBUTING TO THE YAHOO GROUP TOO MUCH. WAS IN EMERGENCY ROOM THURSDAY WITH A FROZEN SHOULDER. GO SEE MY ORTHO DR. WEDNESDAY. HAD A HORRIBLE REACTION TO THE PERCOSET – MUST BE ALLERGIC TO IT. SHOULD HAVE TOLD THEM TO GIVE ME VOCODIN. OH WELL AT LEAST I AM DOING BETTER TODAY SATURDAY. CAN AT LEAST MOVE THE ARM BETTER. TAKE CARE TINA AND LOVE YOUR COMMENTS. YOUR BUDDY – HEATHER

    • meddlingmom Says:

      I love your enthusiasm, always, Heather…it’s kind of fun having fans…wow, your shoulder…frozen…that’s terrible, so frightening, I imagine…how are you feeling..I know what you mean about being allergic…I am very sensitive to medications….I hope you have a quick recovery…will you go for physical therapy? Thanks so much for cheering me on…I do so appreciate reading your thoughts!
      xoxo

  2. Heather Lenore Says:

    Hi Again – Not Sure what will happen. My Dr. (he did my other shoulder surgery in 2010) will probably X-ray first and depending on how much arthritis is in there might just give me some cortizone and send me to therapy. I may just go this time. Last time it was too far gone (did MRI and had 3 tears). I will let you know. Have a great rest of weekend. Hugs – Heather

  3. Heather Lenore Says:

    Good Morning – Must go and try and get the husband a new TracPhone; it’s been lost 3 times now and we have managed to find it, but it is gone for good (think in some cow poop). He is like a little kid; does not deserve a phone, but does come in handy for him – calls me from the barn, etc. and his farm buddies. Yes, I have had my share of surgeries – Knee in 2009 (need a partial now, but no way) rotator cuff in 2010 – rectal cancer last May – survived that, lucky it was very early stage and now the other shoulder. I inherited my Dad’s bad bones. Thanks for caring – you are a good friend – wish I had been friends with you in school. Hugs – Heather

  4. meddlingmom Says:

    well, I guess we all deserve to have a cell phone, pretty essential sometimes…also sounds like you are quite a survivor, Heather. Happy everything has worked out for you…did you ever look me up in the yearbook? We were friendly…you were a pretty friendly person…we can be friends now!

  5. Heather Lenore Says:

    Yes, I did look you up in the yearbook – you were a very pretty girl. I just don’t have much of a memory from school. I think I kept to myself most of the time. Anymore I am such a big mouth and get myself in trouble a lot. Checked on to the Yahoo group – not much happening on there right now. Good thing because I always try to comment on stuff; I am sure they think I am nuts (which I am). Yes, we can be friends now!!!! Heather

Leave a Reply

